pixelslosa.blogg.se

Sleeping beauty royal opera house
Sleeping beauty royal opera house













sleeping beauty royal opera house sleeping beauty royal opera house

She was one of the acclaimed ballerinas of her generation, & my set of Ballet Cards collected weekly at that time, featured her as one of the “Lovely Young Dancers of 1960”. The ballerina Lynn Seymour, was dancing the lead role of Princess Aurora. Eagerly, I devoured the contents, which whetted my appetite for the performance to come. It was my first visit to GOH, so settling into our comfortable seats in good time, gave me the opportunity to gaze in wonder at the luxurious gold & red GOH decor around me, & absorb the unique, magical theatrical atmosphere, totally unlike anything I had ever experienced before.Ī colleague of my father’s, spotting us, came over, & after greeting us both, chatted with him, giving me further opportunities to enjoy my surroundings, & to read the programme.

sleeping beauty royal opera house

He had always expressed pride that a dancer from the Pavlova Ballet Company had stayed with his family for the duration of that Company’s own GOH performances in May 1931, so our Royal Ballet outing was going to be a treat for him too. My father, knowing how much I enjoyed my Ballet classes with the Lena King School of Ballet, in Belfast, booked us 2 very good seats in GOH stalls, for an evening performance of The Royal Ballet’s Sleeping Beauty, in 1960.















Sleeping beauty royal opera house